Clifton Chenier, musique zydeco…à l’accordéon, créole français de Louisiane

A rare video of the King of the South, the King of the Bayous, the King of the Zydeco. With CJ Chenier on sax, Cleveland Chenier on rubboard, and the late Harry Hypolite on guitar.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yteXz_J1Nlk

The King of Zydeco (pronounce Za-ree-co please) Clifton Chenier (1925 – 1987) a Creole French-speaking native of Opelousas, Louisiana, was an eminent performer and recording artist of Zydeco, which arose from Cajun and Creole music, with R&B, jazz, and blues influences. He played the accordion and won a Grammy Award in 1983. In 1984 he was honored as a National Heritage Fellow and in 1989 was inducted posthumously into the Blues Hall of Fame… From Arhoolie Records

Jolie blonde

Demain moi partir
Sur la route loin de toi
Aujourd’hui moi être perdu

Et pas savoir trop pourquoi
Toi belle fille qui descend
Les marches devant moi
Moi être capable mais pas vouloir
Être trop loin de tes bras

Paupières qui boudent

Lumière qui plombe
Et le jour qui s’en vient
Moi faire mon métier avec mes deux mains
Moi bonhomme au cœur de l’eau
Les yeux dans le paysage
Et la vase s’accumule
Dans ma tête de sauvage

Oh jolie blonde
Oh jolie blonde
Oh jolie blonde
Moi t’aime à mourir

Toi être claire comme l’amour
Moi les yeux dans le noir
La bête qui te guette
Toi bonne femme pas connaitre
Par devant et par-delà
Et les jours inconnus
Parfois trop de beau temps
Fais souffrir l’intérieur

Oh jolie blonde
Oh jolie blonde
Oh jolie blonde
Moi t’aime à mourir

https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cr%C3%A9oles

Pour nous changer de l’accordéon que nous entendons à la foire de St-Yrieix.

et son fils C.J. toujours à l’accordéon

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZO9qmk4WnDk

Une version plus récente de Jolie Blonde (Jole Blon !) par Bruce Springsteen :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TLLeHdxxMs

« Jole Blon » is a traditional cajun waltz, but be prepared: Bruce never uses 3/4 time (except in My Father’s House & Valentine’s Day).
« Jole Blon » almost was Springsteen’s first cover on a studio album… Springsteen had originally recorded the song for his 1980 album, The River, but it was never released and he decided to re-record the song with Bonds for his 1981 album, Dedication (source: wikipedia).

C’est James Lee Burker qui m’a fait connaître ce musicien par son roman policier « Prisonniers du ciel »

Laisser un commentaire

